[Logo] SpagoWorld Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing  
[Groups] Back to home page  [Moderation Log] Moderation Log   [Register] Register /  [Login] Login 
bar chart  XML
Forum Index » Technical Help - SpagoBI Server - CHART & DASH
Author Message
frippe12573.spw

SpagoBI friend

Joined: 23/09/2010 16:21:33
Messages: 78
Offline

goodmorning to all,
i'm trying to build some char, for example a bar chart,
i prepare a dataset query like:


and i've a correct result by clicking the test button:
id_comp x value1
38 Amedee Geothermal Venture 10.0
39 Bali Energy Ltd 18.0
41 Bay of Plenty Energy 50.0
... .... ....

but it doesn't work with my chart, that is my template:


and if test the chart i get:
Could not retrieve value; check the dataset

On wiki documentation i read the explanation of the dataset format, it seem to be like
a query concatenation by union, isn't it? that is the only way?

Thanks

Eugenio
bernabei

SpagoBI friend
[Avatar]

Joined: 05/07/2010 12:44:01
Messages: 84
Location: Bologna
Offline

Hi
on wiki you can find some example, you can use any type of query to read data.
Did you find any errors in log files ?

regards
Angelo
[Email]
frippe12573.spw

SpagoBI friend

Joined: 23/09/2010 16:21:33
Messages: 78
Offline

Hi,
my problem is closely to the template file, i'm thinking,
because i have the right result from the query in dataset,
both using pgadmin3 on db and the dataset test button.
But if i try the chart document i recive:

Could not retrieve value; check the dataset


Maybe i made a mistake uploading the template file and,
connecting it to the chart document, anyway i don't understand why..

looking into the catilina log file i see:


Could you give me any suggests?
Regards

Eugenio

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 11/01/2011 13:23:57

dovidio.spw



Joined: 13/01/2011 09:30:12
Messages: 1
Offline

Hi Eugenio,
try to delete from your template this line:

<PARAMETER name='category_label' value='x'/>

Let us know!

Regards,
Fabio
gigavard

SpagoBI supporter
[Avatar]

Joined: 05/07/2010 13:30:10
Messages: 148
Location: Padova
Offline

Hi Eugenio,
could you please try avoiding empty spaces in category definition,
i am afraid this gives problem with Spao Source Bean,
try to substitute them with a _ ('Amedee_Geothermal_Venture')

please let me know if worked,

Greetings

Giulio
frippe12573.spw

SpagoBI friend

Joined: 23/09/2010 16:21:33
Messages: 78
Offline

Hi to all,
i tested the last two hints from gigavard and dovidio, but
i have no chart yet...
that's the spagobi log:



and this is the new template after dovidio hint:


I also try to change x in X in the dataset definition,
and i changed the field company name removing
the space in the company name, as gigavard suggested me...

What con i do to have my chart?????
I'm in trouble...

Thanks for any other suggestions...

Eugenio
frippe12573.spw

SpagoBI friend

Joined: 23/09/2010 16:21:33
Messages: 78
Offline

hi to all,
finally i think i solved the problem,
there was some company name with a bad character
like '/' or '&' that are wrong...i removed that and now it seems working!!!

Thanks for all!

Eugenio
frippe12573.spw

SpagoBI friend

Joined: 23/09/2010 16:21:33
Messages: 78
Offline

Goodmorning,
today i'm going to prepare the bar chart, so i'm going to prepare
with more attention the template file.
I read the wiki pages, there is something that i don't understand yet.
I'm wondering if there is a complete xml guide to build and personalize
the chart, to better learn the parameters and options usable.
for example in my case on the x axis i have about 70 features,
so it's hard to read the label in the chart, so i put:

but if i use the slider in the document don't change the
elements in the x axis.

Regards

Eugenio
gigavard

SpagoBI supporter
[Avatar]

Joined: 05/07/2010 13:30:10
Messages: 148
Location: Padova
Offline

Hi Eugenio,
there s not a complete guide actually,
but by downloading the SpagoBI studio you would get some help in configuring the chart
(because it gives a graphic editor to create the template).

Anyway,
with the parameters you put you should also put

<PARAMETER name="filter_categories" value="true" />

this should fit your case.

greetings

Giulio
frippe12573.spw

SpagoBI friend

Joined: 23/09/2010 16:21:33
Messages: 78
Offline

Hi,
i just add the line that you suggest me in my template code,
but the slider doesn't work yet.
I've also another problem, i not able to see the axis titles,
and i've the parameters connected:

and


mmm...maybe there something that i don't undestand yet in building template...

I try spagostudio on window host, but it use more parameters..i will try again...

Eugenio
gigavard

SpagoBI supporter
[Avatar]

Joined: 05/07/2010 13:30:10
Messages: 148
Location: Padova
Offline

Let me know if with SpagoBI Studio you can solve your problems,
otherwise please write me your template so I can directly compare it
with my working ones.

Write me also which SpagoBi version you are using.

Greetings

Giulio
frippe12573.spw

SpagoBI friend

Joined: 23/09/2010 16:21:33
Messages: 78
Offline

Hi gigavard,
my spagostudio linux version is quite different from the windows one,
because i haven't the list of option to build the chart but only the text editor.

Anyway i put here my template:



some of these parameters coming from the template build by spagostudio on windows
but for some of these i don't know the meaning...

SpagoBI vs 2.4

Regards
Eugenio
gigavard

SpagoBI supporter
[Avatar]

Joined: 05/07/2010 13:30:10
Messages: 148
Location: Padova
Offline

Hi,
I tested your example,
on current SpagoBi version it works but in 2.4 it does not, it's probably due to a bug we solved later.

Is that you need to have both bars and lines in your chart?
If you need only bars you could try simpleBar subtype, i made a test on 2.4 and slider is ok.

FOr what concern the axis labels, they are not shown because in template you put
<PARAMETER name='category_level' value='Company'/>
<PARAMETER name='value_level' value='installed'/>

but correct sintax is

<PARAMETER name='category_label' value='Company'/>
<PARAMETER name='value_label' value='installed'/>

so "label" instead of "level".

Greetings

Giulio

frippe12573.spw

SpagoBI friend

Joined: 23/09/2010 16:21:33
Messages: 78
Offline

Hi gigavard,
i just solved the problem connected to the axis label,
then i use your suggest to test the slide bar with simplebar subtype,
but it doesn't work, i don't know why...
There is a reason becouse i used the overlaid_barline, the reason is that i need
two kind o scale on Y axies, and i undestand that the simplebar doesn't
provide this feature.

Maybe there something wrong in my query? or in my category and series coming from
the query?

Thanks for now

Eugenio
frippe12573.spw

SpagoBI friend

Joined: 23/09/2010 16:21:33
Messages: 78
Offline

Hi gigavard,
as i told you i solved the problem of the axis label,
now i'm working with the spagobi 2.4 version yet,
but i observe something strange in the behavior of the
slide bar for the category and the select choice for the
series:
i load the char document, so i tried the sliding bar, without any results,
then i leave the page of the chart open, and i work with another internet
page...after some minutes i come back to the spagobi chart chart document
and i retried to move the sliding bar, it works just for one time, if i reuse the bar
it didn't work...if i come back after other minutes the bar works...

Why?
What is the problem, is the bug that you told me?

Here my template:



Regards

Eugenio
 
Forum Index » Technical Help - SpagoBI Server - CHART & DASH
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.9 © JForum Team